India vs New Zealand: Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj receive maiden T20I call-ups


Coming out to open the innings, Iyer smashed 439 runs in 14 matches before going on to bag the IPL emerging player of the Year award.

"Shreyas has been prolific in all forms of the game, be it a four-day format, be it one-day or T20, be it IPL, he has been performing".

Prasad explained: "We have communicated to Nehra and the team management that we were only looking at him till the New Zealand series".

Iyer, who was earlier named in the India's Test squad in Australia but did not get a chance to make his debut, recently enjoyed a string of success for India A across formats as he scored 140*, 65, 108, 82 and 90 against New Zealand A and South Africa A. We will continue with him and nurture him. Veteran Ashish Nehra has also been included in the team, but the interesting part is that the pacer finds a place in the 16 man squad for just one game. "We will monitor Kohli's workload after the Tests (vs Sri Lanka)", said chief selector MSK Prasad. So is the case with Siraj. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well".

Three T20 matches are set to be played, with the first game in in New Delhi on November 1. Siraj, 23-year-old right-arm medium-pacer, has 26 wickets in 16 T20s at an average of 18.73 and an economy rate of 7.85. This message very clearly communicated.

Trump launches petition to stand for national anthem
"We believe our players should stand for the national anthem ", Goodell said (via NFL Network's Andrew Siciliano). Earlier this week NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell met with about half of the NFL owners.

K L Rahul, who has been left out for the ongoing three-match ODI series against New Zealand, has been retained for the T20I series.

Besids the inclusion of Iyer and Siraj, there were no major surprises, as India have made a decision to field a strong team for the New Zealand series.

Prasad stressed whether Nehra, 38, figures in the playing XI "is entirely up to the team-management and the selector on call".

India T20Is squad: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Mohammed Siraj.