Google Duo app to get picture-in-picture mode for Android O

Share

In a post on its blog, Check Point has discovered a security flaw in Android that opens the door to ransomware, banking malware, and adware.

"Having a fix only available for Android O does raise security concerns, as a large number of Android users will be left vulnerable throughout their entire lifetime", Arsene said. That could be why Chrome OS 58 on the stable channel brought neither Play Store nor Android apps to Chromebooks.

Users should only download apps from trusted brands, Check Point said.

However, Google had dropped the shopping bag ever since the Pixel phones were launched with the Pixel Launcher that had all the app icons stylised in circles. The shopping bag is missing from the notification drop-down, leaving only the triangle behind (the checkmark made the cut, too).

For your own Android device at home, why not try our Mobile Security for Android tool - it's a free download.

New Zealand duo Bromwich, Proctor axed from World Cup squad
ACT Police said a man had been charged for possession and supply of a drug of dependence to two NRL players. Bromwich and Proctor were not the only ones caught up in drug accusations.

Basically, Google classifies the Android apps and grants those apps permissions, but there is only a Normal level and unsafe level.

This latest version of Android is expected to land in Google's latest Pixel smartphones before progressively rolling out from fall this year. However, this soon caused problems, as this permission is also used by legitimate apps, such as Facebook, which requires it for its Messenger chat heads feature. So all someone has to do is say that the System Alert Window functionality is needed for their app and there you go, even though Google originally said this was unsafe. Although, this option is partially visible only on the Android O Developer Preview. There will be changes on Android O though, which should give out a different permission that is more restricted.

Earlier, the app used to show contacts from all your synced Google accounts at one place. It now features much more relevant information for the apps that need an update and others as well.

The flaw: Since Google understood the problematic nature of this permission, and the apparent risks for user privacy it created the distinct process mentioned above to approve it.

Share