Captain takes charge; Sidhu is not Dy CM


Upset over the snub for the Deputy Chief Minister's office by Captain Amarinder Singh, outspoken leader Navjot Singh Sidhu left without speaking to the media after his induction as the minister for Local Government, Tourism and Cultural Affairs, and Archives and Museums portfolios on Thursday.

Along with Amarinder, who started his second inning as State's Chief Minister, seven Cabinet Ministers and two Ministers of State took the oath of office and secrecy administered by the Governor VP Singh Badnore at Raj Bhawan. Third on the list of nine ministers who was sworn in was Navjot Singh Sidhu, the cricketer-turned-politician who quit the BJP past year.

Who will get the role of deputy Chief Minister is still a surprise, however what we know is that Navjot Sidhu is set to included in the cabinet no matter. However, there has been no confirmation about the same yet. Amarinder's wife former Union Minister Preneet Kaur and his family members were also present. The spokesperson pointed out that the complete arrangements for the event were made by the Raj Bhavan, with the Congress government not even sworn in till the completion of the ceremony.

Riding on strong anti-incumbency, Congress stormed to power in Punjab after a gap of 10 years by winning 77 seats in the 117-assembly seats of the Vidhan Sabha.

AJ Styles Throws Shane McMahon Through A Car Window
To that end, Styles did a solid job in recounting all the ways in which he got jobbed in order to justify his anger at McMahon. McMahon refused to be taken to the emergency room but allowed security to assist him back to the trainer's room.

#10:40am: Aruna Chaudhary takes oath as state minister (independent charge).

S K Sandhu, who was the Principal Secretary to former chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, was posted as the Additional Chief Secretary, Social Security and Development of Women and Children while Anurag Agarwal was posted as Financial Commissioner, Taxation.

#10:33am: Rana Gurjeet Singh takes oath as the cabinet minister. However, many senior Congress leaders remain to wait to see if the top brass of the party just hands over the position of Captain Amarinder Singh's first mate to the late entrant Sidhu. New entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 20 seats and two seats went to its ally Lok Insaaf Party.

This is the party's second best-ever performance in the state.